M.A.C makeup: Unpopular opinion?

17
Sort By

Jul 19, 2012

Gabriella C.

Am I the only one who thinks that theres nothing really great about M.A.C. Cosmetics? I don't really think M.A.C. is all that. I know a lot of people who rave about M.A.C, but I honestly don't see what's so great about it. I've tried a lot of their products, from eyeshadows, to lip glass, to lipstick, to their foundation. Sure, the eyeshadow is very good and pigmented, but 1 shadow costs $15. I could buy a Too Faced palette from Sephora that costs $36 and has 9 shadows and they're just as good as M.A.C. shadows. Their lip glass is also SO sticky and streaky. The lipstick is great, however, it tends to be a bit dry in my opinion. And as for their foundation, It is SO heavy on the skin, though I must say it does have very good coverage.
Am I the only one who feels this way? Let me know, I'd love to hear what everyone else thinks! x

Jul 19, 2012

Morena M.

I think some of their products are great and others not so much. That's how it is with most brands, though. There's definitely a lot of hype but their products wouldn't be nearly as popular if they didn't work well enough for most people. I agree with you about being able to find cheaper alternatives! It just makes sense to spend less money on something that's just as good :)

I think MAC gets all the hype of being the 'biggest and the best'. But really, they could have products made of gold, and it still won't work for someone. It's all personal opinion I think. 

Jul 19, 2012

Ashley C.

yes, too hyped up. i like their paint pot in painterly but recently i bought their concealer and mineralized skin finish and i must say i wasn't that impressed. not a horrible product, just had higher expectations for them because of how everyone raves about this stuff. i also bought their studio fix foundation before and it felt like i was wearing a mask. yuck.

Jul 19, 2012

Marilyn C.

I agree with you Gabriella. I'm not a fan of MAC. There are a lot of better brands out there.

I'll agree that MAC that is a bit overrated, but MAC still has products I love. MAC Carbon is my staple black, I enjoy Fix + & I LOVE LOVE Pro Longwear foundation. It's my all time favorite foundation. =]

Sure they're a bit over-rated, but these products & a few others work for me & I love them for that. Like Victoria said, some products just don't work the same on a lot of people.

Jul 19, 2012

Brandi P.

I hate their mascaras I've tried most never found one I was happy with

Jul 19, 2012

Christina O.

I think it's okay, maybe a little overrated but their match master foundation is a DREAM! Also they have pretty average things like their eyeshadow isn't great and neither is the mascara and the list goes on, but they are still over priced. I must say tho their foundations and concealers work very well for me and definitely the match master foundation has been so well thought through and is worth every penny :)

Jul 19, 2012

Shelly T.

@Victoria...
<< It's all personal opinion I think. >>

Exactly.

As an aside, this is why I hate when someone uses the word "best" when they're asking for product recommendations, because "best" is a very subjective term. What works well for me may not work for you. A product I think sucks, you may like. The "best" of anything is the product that works best for *you*. As an alternative to "best", my suggestion would be to replace it with "favo(u)rite". :)

Jul 20, 2012

Sofia M.

I don't think MAC is the best but there are products that I like and products I don't like.
I don't like their mascaras
I think blushes are so so
I like the lipsticks and lipliners
I like the eyeshadows and eyeliners
Foundations are okay some I like some I don't
I like their brushes.

I am so over MAC. I blame it on the fact that they've been pumping out multiple crappy collections practically each month and it's nothing interesting. 

Jul 20, 2012

Elizabeth G.

A lot of people flock to MAC because of the label, ya know?
I hate it :x 

Jul 20, 2012

Maya O.

I love MAC!
love it so much, I even went to work there for a while lol
I think the main issue that ppl sometimes have with MAC, is due to such a large range of products... it can get a bit confusing sometimes, and even prevent you from finding the right products for your needs and preferences. because generally speaking - i do belive that you can find everything in MAC.
you just need to find the products that work for you...

and if you still dont like MAC... well, it happens :)

Jul 20, 2012

Danie D.

About 10 years ago MAC cosmetics was the major choice for pro artists around the world. They have bight vivid eyshadows, a wide range of foundations and concealers. But since Estee Lauder came in and took over the company the focus has turned from being artist worthy o sales driven and as a result the product line has suffered. Due to mass production I have found that the products are of poor quality ie. Carbon eyeshadow. I have one from 5 years ago that I recently found in in bottom of a suitcase that looks nothing like Carbon shadow that is currently on sale today. Today I found that I am leaning more to Nars, MUFE, OCC, Urban Decay

Jul 23, 2012

Vanessa L.

I have been obsessed with MAC for 10 years....and it wasn't until this year that I became more open to other products (only because I'm not working). To be honest....I always compare everything to MAC and so far I haven't found anything that I love as much as MAC. In my opinion makeup in general isn't cheap unless you get dollar stuff like elf. Even the drugstore shadows are around $7 so I prefer to pay $15 and know that I'm getting a product that I have swatched and that is of quality. MAC also lets you return any product if you're not satisfied. I have bought cheap stuff and it ends up being a waste of money because it usually sucks. As far as foundation and mascara.....I def think the MAC ones suck.

Jul 23, 2012

James C.

Its a marketing thing. Mac was started as a professional brand and sold onto the estee lauder group. With the massive budgets behind it they have built a cult following based on the companies initial history.

The products are still recognized as being professional quality but it depends entirely on the individual. Many productions are sponsored by Mac and the various other companies that estee lauder owns to boost their profile.

Individual items from different brands have different merits and you just need to experiment and find what suits you.  

Jul 23, 2012

Nicki N.

I can't speak out about all of MAC but with my local store I can't bother to go in there. The artists/associates in there are awful to try and deal with, they will brush me off if an older customer goes in or they have other things to do like text behind the counter or set up a display or two.

Although they have a huge selection, it's not worth it in my eyes to deal with rude employees. The products don't live up to the hype IMO and cost more than they're worth. I like the MSF and the Viva lipsticks (mostly 'cause I'm big on charities).

I'll just walk to the other side of the hallway and go to Sephora, it's less painful over there.  Lol

Jul 23, 2012

Mary P.

I like MAC and buy their products often but they are not my all time favorite brand. I also think they need to really work on their Customer Service, ettiquette, etc. I was just there this past weekend to pick up a concealer & new lipstick. The girls helping me were rude, tried selling me stuff I wasnt even asking for & on top of that her makeup scared the crap outta me, her face looked very cakey, she over did her makeup to the point where she could pass up as a clown. I did not enjoy this past visit dealing with rudeness and the rude look on her face. MAC acts like they are "the best", I say not & work on your Customer Service bc a bad attitude in the makeup business is like a flat tire, if you don't change it, you don't get anywhere! 

Log in or join now to add a comment.