So Im thinking of using a mild relaxer...whats your opinion?

5
Sort By

Jun 07, 2012

Summer S.

So I classify my hair as 3b-3c range for starters and Im seriously considering trying a mild, no lye relaxer on my hair. When it comes to my hair, I have curly season and straight season. Curly season is usually from about September thru May, depending on when the Oklahoma humidity lets up. When strait season starts, I do protein and moisturization treatments to prime my hair before I straiten it. Without going thru too much detail it takes me about 2-3 hours just to straiten my hair. I wash it only once a month after that and i dont need to put heat on it every often at all. Maybe 1 more time before I wash it again. I dont do chemicals and it has literally been years since I put any color on my hair.

I have been doing research for a few days, trying to find the perfect relaxer as well as the perfect technique. The only reason I have been thinking about this is because although I have learned to love my hair, its still a pain in the ass. Looking for products and conditioners to tame it thru curly season is getting exhausting. I've been looking at mild no lye relaxers from Sally's and I happened upon the Proclaim Sensitive Scalp Relaxer with Argan Oil. It looks promising but I dont know. I need more opinions from a purely objective standpoint.

heres a pic with my hair natural and ALOT of product. Thanks!

Jun 07, 2012

Summer S.

heres another pic

Jun 07, 2012

Latia C.

As a relaxed woman, my first suggestion is really thinking about what you want to do with your hair. I have a few friends with natural curly hair who have relaxers and the relaxer really doesn't do much for their hair; it curls right back up when it gets wet. Maintaining relaxed hair is a totally different regimen from what you do to tame your curls now. Maintaining the health of your hair will really be important because you're really compromising your hair. List the pros and cons of relaxing. Try to find reviews of the product you want to use to relax. Really make sure this is a decision you're willing to live with until your natural hair grows out more (if you don't like relaxed hair). But this is just my opinion. I hope it helps you out some.

Jun 07, 2012

Kendra F.

From a girl who has had a relaxer, grew it out and learned to love her natural hair, I say that you should stick to your natural hair. Relaxers are damaging to your hair, no matter how mild the relaxer is. I remember when after having it for a while, my hair began to thin out, and I have THICK, COARSE, KINKY CURLY HAIR ( about a 4a), and I have learned to love and deal with my hair. I love how thick it looks when I straighten it, even if it takes me about two hours. I finger detangle it whenever I wear it curly because I get much less breakage, and the styling of it when I want to straighten it is so much less difficult. Also, there are people who would kill to have your hair texture, even though it is a pain in the butt for you. It's beautiful, it lays down, it looks tame, and it is thick. There are many people who don't have curly or even wavy hair lact volume, and you have that. Relaxers damage hair, making it dry and keeping it moisturized is much harder than moisturizing your own naturally curly hair. The scalp is always dry and it soaks up oil because it's harder for your scalp to produce it itself and truth be told, relaxers make your hair and scalp thirsty. Anyway, here are the truths about relaxers. http://nappturality.com/index.php?o...

Jun 07, 2012

Summer S.

To Latia: All I would like is just an easier time dealing with my hair. I mean I like it, just so frizzy and I have to put soooo much product on it. And thats the thing, I have to live with my hair if I choose to put a relaxer on it. Luckily for me, my hair grows rather fast in comparison to my mothers. But even if it doesnt work the way that I want it, I dont want to fry my hair. I have to say thats my overall fear!

Kendra: You remind me of things my mom always used to say LOL! She would say, you are lucky! You have thick hair and its soft and its not like my brillo pad! LMAO!!! I would like to try it, even if its just once....maybe. I dont want to fry my hair with is my greatest fear. The heat that I have to use just to straiten it is intense BUT I do protein and moisturization treatments to prepare my hair for the initial straitening. I just wish the texture was softer so it doesnt take me 1hr in the shower just trying to comb it out ya know? Sigh...the grass is always greener i suppose

Jun 07, 2012

Kendra F.

@summer lol we always think the grass is greener, but there are always benefits on ouyr own side. I no longer comb my hair out in the shower. Instead, I detangle my hair with my fingers before I get in the shower and I twist the detangled part up. So pretty much, I wash my hair in four sections of twists, and they are all detangled before I get in the shower so that when I am done, I can just dry my hair (air dry for the most part unless I am straightening it), and then combing it out is not even a hassle because it is still comb out. Go here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vPC... this is where I got my method from and it is so amazing, but unlike her I detangled my hair after I spray it with water so that it is easier and less prone to breakage.

Haha and it's funny because my mom always tells me that and now I sound like her even though I am 19 lol

Theres no such thing as a mild relaxer and dont get me wrog i love my creamy crack lol but dibt let mild sensitive and all those other marketing words fool u they are still very damaging i wood say if u really wanna do it go for it....how i feel hair is hair and will grow back....trying something new can b fun

Jun 08, 2012

MiMi A.

I personally think you should keep it natural. I used to use relaxers/perms for years. But I had stopped because after a while it started breaking off my hair. Its better to keep it natural and straight then perm/relax it. You could straighten it with a good flat iron and use heat protectant first. Then wrap it to keep it straight and avoid having to use heat everyday. But I think its best to leave it natural and healthy, than relax it nd it start to break off just to give yourself a little ease. It makes sense. :) Btw if you havn't, try checking out HairCrush on youtube. She has beautiful long thick hair, and has a vid on what happened when she relaxed her hair. You could also check out Glamtwinz334. They have curly hair and straighten it without relaxers. They show you how to maintain it too. :)

Jun 08, 2012

Summer S.

thanks for all the great advice gurls! I know that when im old and my hair starts to thin, im gonna miss the way my hair is now LOL. We all gotta play the hand we were dealt right?

Log in or join now to add a comment.